Board of Fire & Police Commissioners

The Board of Fire and Police Commissioners consists of three members appointed for staggered terms of three years each. The personnel, duties, tenure of office, powers, and qualifications are established by ordinance or State law. Members of the Board are appointed by the Mayor, subject to confirmation by the Village Council. Qualifications for membership on the Board are provided by ordinance or State law. 

The Board of Fire and Police Commissioners derives its power and authority from the Board of Fire and Police Commissioners Act of the Illinois Municipal Code, and from the home rule powers of the Village, as provided in the State Constitution. The powers and duties of the Board are as follows:

  • To conduct examinations for and appoint all firefighters and police officers in the Village's Fire and Police Departments, except the Fire Chief, the Chief of Police, the deputy or assistant chiefs of each department, battalion chiefs, division chiefs, auxiliary police officers, and civilian employees of the respective departments. 
  • To conduct examinations and certify candidates for promotion in the Village's fire and police departments.
  • To conduct hearings and impose discipline, including demotions.
  • To adopt, enforce, administer and amend the Rules and Regulations of the Board of Fire and Police Commissioners. 
  • To take such other action as the Village Council may from time to time expressly authorize or direct.
  • The Board shall not have the power or authority to make any rule to govern the operation of the police or fire department or the conduct of its members.


  • 3 members


Minutes and Agendas
View Calendar

Staff Liaison

Lauren Linares

Human Resource Director